A House Divided

I’ve been in a book club for almost 6 years now (it will be 6 years in July). I’ve really enjoyed the chance to read books that I normally might not have chosen to read, and the friendships forged through the sharing of thoughts and ideas will last a lifetime! ๐Ÿ™‚

Before I joined this lovely group of ladies, they had been together as a book club for a while. One of the gals has been so organised as to write down each of the books that the club has read since she joined (a month or so after its inception). She emailed me the list, and I’ve been on a quest to read as many of the books on the list that I haven’t already read as possible.

One of those books was Pearl S. Buck’s ‘The Good Earth’. It was a book that I’d always intended to read, but never gotten around to. I finally read it last year and enjoyed it.ย  Imagine my surprise though, when I discovered that it was the first in a trilogy!

‘A House Divided’ is the last book in the trilogy (the second book being called ‘Sons’). It chronicles the young adult years (from 19-26) of the grandson of Wang Lung, who was the focus of ‘The Good Earth’.

Yuan feels trapped between the differing mindsets of 2 very different generations. He feels honour-bound to obey his father, who is very much a traditionalist, yet feels drawn to the cries of freedom he hears from those who are his contemporaries.

Repulsed by the fact that his father wants to force him into marriage, Yuan eventually sides with the other young people in the midst of the revolution in China. But, as he spends 6 years abroad, and then returns home to his people, Yuan comes to realise that there needs to be a bridge built between the old traditions, and the new freedoms in order to truly bring peace to himself and his family.

The ‘Good Earth’ trilogy is very good. I really enjoyed reading what happened to Wang Lung and his descendants. That said, I did find that I needed a break during the middle of ‘A House Divided’ (see previous post), simply because the subject matter and writing are a bit heavier than the tone of most books written now.

3 of 5 stars

2011 Page Count ~ 2051

PS ~ stay tuned for a progress report on the SOSC tomorrow night! ๐Ÿ™‚ย  Hopefully there will be pictures! ๐Ÿ˜‰

2 thoughts on “A House Divided

  1. I read The Good Earth back in high school and it went over my head (I really think my reading comprehension has improved a lot since then — and even in my adulthood! I can read CS Lewis now whereas I couldn’t in my early 20s.) I might have to try this one again. And no, I didn’t realize it was a trilogy! Hmmm… ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

