Year of the Blanket

One of my fellow crocheters has declared 2011 to be ‘The Year of the Blanket’.  She is doing 11 blankets for 2011, and is encouraging others to join her.  While I’m not sure that 11 blankets is do-able for me, given the other projects I want to complete this year, I am more than willing to make 2011 “The Year of the Blanket” for myself as well.

This is where y’all come in.  I have a few blanket ideas that I want to do this year, but need some input on what patterns I should try and tackle! 🙂

First up is a baby blanket to be made all in white.  One of my dearest friends is expecting at the end of March, but has decided not to find out if it’s a boy or a girl this time around.  So, I need something that will be pretty without being overly girly . . .

Crochet Sweet Baby Blankie, Dainty Baby Blanket, Diagonal Pattern Baby Blanket, Lacy Afghan, Lozenge Lace Blanket


Next are blankets I am hoping to make to sell.  I was given some pastel variegated yarn and plan on making a few baby blankets with it.  I think I can probably make 3 blankets with the amount of yarn I have, but I’m not sure.  I’ll start off with the one that gets the most votes, and go from there . . .

Crochet Baby Blankie, Diamond Baby BlanketDreamy Lace Baby Throw, Little Girl’s Favourite Throw, One-Ball Baby Blanket


When we were preparing for the baby that we didn’t end up being able to adopt, I bought some white and blue yarns for making him some blankets.  After the adoption fell through, I couldn’t bear to finish the blankets I had worked so hard to make, so I frogged them.  It’s been almost 2 years now, and I finally feel like I’m at a place where I can use the yarn that was meant for those blankets for other baby blankets (to give or to sell, not sure yet) . . . So these blankets would either be in blue and white, or solid blue, or solid white.  Again, I have enough yarn to make multiple blankets, so I would start with the most popular one first . . .

Chenille Afghan in solid blue or solid white, Crochet Heathers Throw in solid blue or solid white, Diagonal Granny Squares Baby Afghan in blue and white, Sonoma Baby Blanket in blue and white, Summer Stripes Baby Afghan in blue and white


And last, but not least, a poll for a blanket specifically made for an adult.  I have a variegated yarn consisting of purple, blue, sage and white, and some matching sage, white and perhaps blue (depending on the how much I use for another project I’m currently working on).

Crochet Colonial Log Cabin Afghan, Crochet New Wave Throw, Scraps Spectacular, Shaded Blanket, Tiles Granny Afghan


Feel free to vote, and comment on the blanket ideas I’ve submitted.  I am going to enjoy making 2011 the “Year of the Blanket”! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Year of the Blanket

  1. so originaly i voted solely on the names of the styles, and it wasnt till after that i realized there were pics so i could actually see what they were lol. after going back and looking at all the pics, i am happy to say i would have made most of the same choices. good luck!

  2. I love these ideas Kate. I’ve never made a blanket in my life but I’m thinking about attempting a quilt this year. Too bad you don’t live close to give me pointers. I hear you’re the best!

  3. Kate, I’m so glad you are blogging again!! 😀 WOOT!!

    I voted. I think I threw your poll. 😉 Apparently, except in one or two cases, I voted with the minority! I tend to like blankets that are pretty solid, even if they are not as fancy looking, because they just seem more practical to me (no sticking your toes through accidentally!). They’re beautiful patterns to work from and I hope you show us some of the finished blankets!

  4. love it! i am glad i voted later – it was cool to see that my first choices were already the most popular. guess it is from “the mouth of 2 or 3 witnessess” … 🙂

Leave a Reply

