Kelly’s Chance

I never know what to write as a ‘synopsis’ of a book that I’m reviewing. I always worry that I’m either sharing too much of the plot line, or not enough. So, I made an executive decision: from now on, I’ll just copy what’s on the back of the book . . . 😀

‘Life for Kelly McGregor is a daily drudge of driving her overbearing father’s mules along Pennsylvania’s Lehigh Canal. She dreams of one day owning an art gallery where her own drawings and paintings are on display. But these dreams don’t include marriage . . . not after seeing what her father has done to her mother. How then can Mike Cooper, a general store owner, make her realize he is different from her father and wants to support her artistic talent? Will Kelly learn that dreams can walk hand in hand with a love created by God?’ (‘Kelly’s Chance’ by Wanda Brunstetter)

Wanda Brunstetter is known for her inspirational novels about the Amish. I have really enjoyed those books, which was why I chose to read ‘Kelly’s Chance’. I have to say that I was a bit disappointed.

The book was good . . . but it wasn’t of the calibre I’ve come to expect from Wanda Brunstetter. The storyline felt too slow in places, and too rushed in others, and the characterisations weren’t as strong in ‘Kelly’s Chance’ as they are in her other books.

That said, it was a good read, and I will continue on with the ‘Brides of Lehigh Canal’ series.

3 of 5 stars

2011 Page Count ~ 2269

PS ~ don’t forget to vote in the poll below! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Kelly’s Chance

  1. all polls have been closed for almost a year now . . . 🙂
    you can buy print copies of the books online, for sure . . . but I don’t know if they are downloadable for e-readers

  2. I know that this post is nearly a year old, but . . . I would love your suggetstions for other works by this author that you would recommend more highly. I’m always looking for a good read. Thanks!

    • Tracey ~
      Wanda Brunstetter’s Amish fiction is high quality. I’d recommend starting with one of her stand-alones, ‘Lydia’s Charm’. Most of her books are series-based, so if you end up enjoying ‘Lydia’s Charm’, then I could recommend some of her other books. Another really good Amish fiction writer is Beverley Lewis. Those 2 authors are the ‘founders’ so-to-speak of Amish fiction, but the genre has really exploded in recent years and several authors have now started writing ‘Plain’ fiction. 🙂

      • Thanks for the suggestion, Kate. I put ‘Lydia’s Charm’ on hold with my local library system. There are a couple copies available, so one of them should be in my hands very soon!

Leave a comment